Government Procurement Board

About the Government Procurement Board

The Government Procurement Board was established in 2001 under the Government Procurement Regulation 2007 and the Government Procurement Act 2001 (Act) which prescribes the Board's functions and responsibilities. The Board reviews and advises ACT Government entities, Directors General and Ministers on procurement issues and practices in the Territory, and reviews procurement proposals in accordance with the Regulation.

The Government Procurement Board generally meet each Tuesday to consider procurement proposals and other business, as required. To contact the board email: or phone +61 2 6205 9797.


The Board is comprised of nine members: five are ACT Government employees (including the chair and deputy chair) and four are non-government employee members. Members are appointed by the Minister for Government Services and Procurement and are selected because of their experience in procurement from the government and/or industry perspective.

The current members are:

Ms Meredith Whitten (Chair and public employee member)
Meredith Whitten is the Deputy Director-General, Workforce Capability and Governance, ACT Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development Directorate. Meredith was previously Deputy Director-General, Business Services, ACT Education Directorate; Executive Director, Disability ACT, ACT Community Services Directorate with responsibilities for leading the change to the National Disability Insurance Scheme for Disability ACT and Therapy ACT, direct service delivery and policy teams.

Louise Gilding (Deputy Chair)
Ms Gilding is an ACT public service employee with extensive public policy experience. Over the last 20 years, Ms Gilding has worked on diverse range of policy issues including crafting strategic economic change and law reform in work health and safety. Ms Gilding currently leads the delivery of public housing and homelessness services within the ACT.

Damon Hall (Public Employee Member)
Mr Hall is an ACT public service employee with extensive experience within both the private and public sectors in the evaluation and delivery of projects, monitoring the performance of Government business enterprises and budget management. This includes as a Executive Group Manager in Major Projects Canberra. Mr Hall previously worked as a Director within the Public Private Partnership Branch of the South Australian Department of Treasury and Finance.

Fleur Flanery (Public Employee Member)
Ms Flanery is the Executive Branch Manager with the Public Transport Operations Division within the Transport Canberra and City Services Directorate. Ms Flanery brings with her extensive experience from the Commonwealth, local and non-government sectors, and a deep understanding of setting the strategic direction, governance and community service delivery for land development.

Suzy Nethercott - Watson (non-public employee member )
Ms Nethercott-Watson is a highly experienced risk management practitioner who brings extensive experience within Commonwealth government reform, working across disparate sectors and engagement with a wide array of people, including community, non-governmental organisation, ministers and government colleagues.

Ms Virginia Shaw (non-public employee member)
Ms Shaw has extensive experience across the public and private sectors. She has had senior management roles with responsibility for capital works and program delivery, including implementing ICT systems, in an Australian Government department, and has provided strategic advice for complex government procurements as a former director of the ACT Cemeteries Authority. Ms Shaw was appointed as a non-public employee member in September 2015.

Bettina Konti, Chief Digital Officer, ACT Government
Bettina joined the ranks of ACT government as Chief Digital Officer in May 2018.   A member of the Strategic Board, she is responsible for driving the whole of ACT government digital, data and technology strategy direction. Her priorities include achieving the ACT’s digital strategy objectives, and ensuring ACT government and its services are focussed around the needs of people, including business and community groups, as well as the ACT government’s workforce. Bettina is an experienced senior executive, digital strategist, program manager and CIO.
She is an advocate for human centred and applied design techniques.  She has extensive experience in leading large complex programs to achieve transformational change.